The day I almost bought a LED TV from Samsung….

I have been planning on upgrading my TV to a LCD or a Plasma for the past one year now.  Have been waiting for a good price as I have been quite happy with my 32″ Sony so far.  Finally we agreed that looking for a good deal on the 4th of July was the right way to buy.  While over the past one year of window shopping for the TV, we have by far agreed that Samsung would be the right choice for the picture quality, price and the design.

So, today we decided we would go look for the best value on the 46″ LCD from Samsung.  We knew LEDs were in the market but due to the price, we had already ruled these out until we stepped in to Fry’s.   The store had the most amazing deal on the LED TV — 1899 for a UN46B7000.  Great deal indeed pus we later found out from the store manager, there is a special to include a Blu Ray player!!!  So, why did I decide not to buy it?

My budget was $1300 and I did not need a Blu ray player.  Yes, it’s as simple as that.  My PS3 functions well as a Blu Ray.  And with all the added tax, shipping etc., my cost on the LED was turning out to be $2200.  That is about $600 more than what I wanted to spend.  We decided may be the next TV we buy would be a nice little (BIG 52′ 😉 ) LED TV.  For now, we could live with a LN46B650.  Not the best TV in the market but from the reviews online and to my personal eyes, a darn good TV to have for regular viewing.  And, with the $600 I saved, may be I can throw in a good Home Theatre addition in the future.  On top, don’t forget that the stand is going to cost another $400 😦

Looking forward to my new TV arriving tomorrow — after visiting 5 stores (3 stores more than twice) we finally decided on H. H. GRegg with a price match.  Hoping that the Yahoo Widgets really is good when online and may be in the future get NetFlix streaming on the TV directly.  That would be just great.

Overall, another 4th of July wasted on shopping instead of some rest.

Tagged ,

One thought on “The day I almost bought a LED TV from Samsung….

  1. hey i am a regular reader of your blog..I love the kind of topics you cover and your writing style..hey alwaysindian has a blog for the NRI’s where we talk on the current events..if u get time do visit our site and give your comments

Leave a comment